Joelle Numainville Takes Top Step at Canadian National Time Trial Championship

Joelle Numainville took the top step today at the Canadian National Time Trial Championship ahead of some of the top female racers in the world, including teammates Denise Ramsden, and Leah Kirchmann. Ramsden finished just off of the podium in fourth, and Kirchmann took  fifth.

Today, Joelle Numainville became the team’s newest national champion, capturing  the Canadian National Time Trial Championships with a time of 39:54 and an average speed of 40.6 km/h. She bested her nearest competitor, Anika Todd (Triple Shot Cycling Club) by 20 seconds on the 27 kilometer time trial course in St. George, Quebec. Jasmin Glaesser (Tibco-To the Top) was third, at 39 seconds back.

“Coming into Canadian Nationals, we knew that Joelle was riding really well in the TT, she was second at the Nature Valley Grand Prix TT behind Carmen Small,” said Women’s Performance Director Rachel Heal. “We have been working throughout the year with all the girls on their TT form and hope that we will capture an invite to the World Team Time Trial Championship in Florence, Italy. With Joelle’s win and consistent TT results from all of our athletes, we are one step closer to that goal.”

This is the second national TT championship for the team, after Tom Zirbel’s star and stripes win last month. It is the team’s second Canadian national title, following up Denise Ramsden’s road title in 2012. The Optum women will look to try to defend  Ramsden’s  title tomorrow, Friday June 21st,  during the 110 km road race in St. George, Quebec.


1          Joelle Numainville (Optum Pro Cycling)                   0:39:54

2          Anika Todd (Tripleshot Cycling Club)                        0:00:20

3          Jasmin Glaesser (Team Tibco / To The Top)          0:00:39

4          Denise Ramsden (Optum Pro Cycling)                      0:00:45

5          Leah Kirchmann (Optum Pro Cycling)                      0:01:06

6          Véronique Labonté (CSM Épinay-Sur-Seine)           0:01:17

7          Lex Albrecht (Now and Novartis for MS)                 0:01:21

8          Alizee Brien (GSD Gestion-Kallisto)                         0:01:24

9          Laura Brown (Colavita Fine Cooking)                      0:01:29

10        Paolina Allan                                                                   0:01:55

Comments are closed.